India’s squad for the Australia T20I series has been announced by the BCCI on Monday. As expected, Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel have made it to the squad after clearing their fitness Tests at the National Cricket Academy (NCA). Both these players were ruled out of Asia Cup 2022 due to injuries and the Indian Cricket Team dearly missed their presence.

As expected, Ravindra Jadeja has been sidelined for the Australia series and the T20 World Cup 2022 too, as he completed his long-awaited knee surgery a week ago and his rehabilitation will take at least 3-4 months for him to be back on the field at the international level. Axar Patel has come in place of Ravindra Jadeja in both Australia and the T20 World Cup Squad.

Jasprit Bumrah, India
Jasprit Bumrah. Image Credits: Twitter

BCCI Announces India’s Squad For Australia T20Is

Indian Cricket Team, Asia Cup 2022
Indian Cricket Team. Image Credits: BCCI

All the senior Indian players have been clearly advised to not miss out on game time going into the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 and hence, they have all been picked for the Australia T20Is. Notably, senior Indian players including Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and Jasprit Bumrah had committed to the board to not miss out on any series following Asia Cup 2022 after having missed a lot of international cricket in 2022.

BCCI scheduled a meeting on Monday in Mumbai and finalized the squad for the T20I series against Australia.

India Squad for Australia T20Is: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohd. Shami, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah.

Also Read: IND vs AUS: Saba Karim Comes Up With A Massive Statement On Virat Kohli, ‘You Need A Batter Who Controls The Situation’

Australia have already named their squad for the series against India and the ICC T20 World Cup 2022. Aaron Finch will be leading the Men in Yellow in both these events.  Finch’s form in limited-overs cricket has been a matter of concern and he recently announced his ODI retirement too.

Australia squad for India T20Is and ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Aaron Finch (c), Pat Cummins (vc), Ashton Agar, Tim David, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Australian Cricket Team
Australian Cricket Team. Image Credits: Twitter

Team India will be playing a 3-match T20I series vs Australia which will commence on September 20 at the Mohali Cricket Stadium in Punjab. The second match of the series will be played at VCA, Nagpur on September 23. The tour will end with the final T20I being played at Hyderabad on September 25.

Also Read: IND vs AUS: Robin Uthappa Wants Deepak Hooda At No.5 In Team India, Says “Uska Acha Time Chal Raha Hain, Make Most Of It”

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *