The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced India’s T20 World Cup 2022 squad on Monda. The selectors and the top brass officials met in Mumbai on Monday to deliberate on India’s ouster in Asia Cup 2022 and to lay out the plan for the busy cricketing schedule beginning with the T20I series against Australia.

Rohit Sharma will be leading the Indian side whereas KL Rahul will be the vice-captain of the team for the T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia. The selectors have gone ahead with both Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik as their wicketkeeper-batters for the tournament. Ravindra Jadeja, as expected, has been ruled out of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022.

Team India
Team India. Image Credits: BCCI

BCCI Announces India Squad For ICC T20 World Cup 2022

India National Cricket Team
India National Cricket Team. Image Credits: BCCI

Axar Patel has been slotted in as a like-for-like replacement for Ravindra Jadeja. Both, Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel have been added back to the Indian squad for the T20 World Cup. Both these pacers had been ruled out of the Asia Cup 2022 with injuries and the Indian bowling unit certainly looked meagre in the tournament in their absence.

However, them coming back into the squad is a massive boost as the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 is all set to take place in Australia where the tracks are usually quick and provide steep bounce and having these 2 in those conditions will certainly make India’s bowling line up a bit more potent.

India Squad for T20 World Cup 2022: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, R Pant (WK), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Y Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, B Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh

Standby players – Mohd. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar

India Squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022:

Name Age Role
Rohit Sharma (C) 35 Batsman
KL Rahul (VC) 30 Batsman
Virat Kohli 33 Batsman
Suryakumar Yadav 31 Batsman
Deepak Hooda 27 All Rounder
Rishabh Pant (WK) 24 Batsman / Wicket Keeper
Dinesh Karthik (WK) 37 Batsman / Wicket Keeper
Hardik Pandya 28 All Rounder
Ravichandran Ashwin 35 All Rounder
Axar Patel 28 All Rounder
Harshal Patel 31 All Rounder
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 32 Bowler
Jasprit Bumrah 28 Bowler
Yuzvendra Chahal 32 Bowler
Arshdeep Singh 23 Bowler
Mohammed Shami 32 Bowler Reserves
Shreyas Iyer 27 Batsman Reserves
Deepak Chahar 30 Bowler Reserves
Ravi Bishnoi 22 Bowler Reserves

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 India Schedule

The Indian Cricket Team will be taking on Pakistan in their maiden T20 World Cup 2022 fixture on October 23 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). On October 27, team India will be taking on the 2nd qualified team from Group A of the qualifiers which will be played from October 16 in Australia.

Yuzvendra Chahal Rohit Sharma, Asia Cup 2022, India
Yuzvendra Chahal Rohit Sharma. Image Credits: BCCI

The ICC T20 World Cup 2022 will commence on October 16 and the final of the tournament will be played on November 13 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Team India has not won an ICC Trophy since the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy and they will certainly be one of the strongest contenders going into the tournament.

Also Read: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022: Virender Sehwag Slams India’s ‘Wrong Thought Process’, Says ‘In Australia You Also Need Experience’

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *