Asia Cup 2022 is just a couple of months away. After a four-year hiatus, the tournament will finally make a much-awaited return this year. The continental championship was last played in 2018 in the UAE. The tournament was originally scheduled to be held in India but had to be shifted to the UAE due to political reasons.

This year’s edition will be the 15th edition of the Asia Cup. The tournament is scheduled to be played in Sri Lanka. Recently there were fears that the tournament might be shifted out of the island nation due to the economic and political crisis but things are looking promising at the moment.

Indian Cricket Team
Indian Cricket Team. Image Credits: Twitter

Sri Lanka recently hosted Australia and sent a timely reminder that they are in a good position to host the Asia Cup. The upcoming edition of the Asia Cup was originally scheduled to be played in 2020 but had to be postponed due to the Covid-19 pandemic. It was then rescheduled to take place in 2021 but had to be postponed again.

Defending champions India are the most successful side in the tournament with seven titles (six ODI and one T20). Sri Lanka is the second most successful team, with five titles followed by Pakistan (2).

Asia Cup 2022 Schedule and Format:

The tournament will take place from August 27 to September 11. Asia Cup 2022 will be played in the T20 format, thus giving the teams an opportunity to prepare for this year’s T20I World Cup. Asia Cup was first held in the T20I format in 2016 just before that year’s T20I World Cup. Later in 2018, it was played in the 50-over format.

*The full schedule for the tournament is yet to be announced by the Asian Cricket Council (ACC).  (The schedule will be updated as soon as it is released).

Asia Cup 2022 Venue:

Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka. Image Credits: Twitter

Since Sri Lanka is set to host the tournament, venues like R.Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Pallekele, Galle International Stadium in Galle, Dambulla International Stadium, and Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium will be among the venues that will host all the games. All these stadiums are good scoring grounds as well as spin-friendly.

Asia Cup 2022 Team List:

A total of 6 teams will participate in the upcoming edition of the continental championship. Five Test-playing nations from the continent – India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Pakistan and Afghanistan have earned direct qualification to the tournament while the remaining one team will book its place through a qualifying round.

UAE, Kuwait, Hong Kong and Singapore will fight it out in the qualifiers for a place in the main event. The qualifiers are set to begin on August 20. All four teams have made it to the last qualifying round after progressing through the regional qualifiers.

Pakistan Cricket Team
Pakistan Cricket Team. Image Credits: Twitter

UAE and Kuwait had made it to the qualifiers after finishing first and second in the ACC Western region event in 2020 while Singapore and Hong Kong did the same from the eastern region.

Sri Lanka
Qualifying team

Asia Cup 2022 Squads (Predicted squads):

India squad
Rohit Sharma (c)
Deepak Hooda
Virat Kohli
Ishan Kishan
Shreyas Iyer
Rishabh Pant (WK)
Hardik Pandya
Suryakumar Yadav
Dinesh Karthik
Mohammed Shami
Yuzvendra Chahal
Kuldeep Yadav
Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Harshal Patel
Jasprit Bumrah


Pakistan squad
Babar Azam (C)
Shadab Khan
Mohammad Rizwan
Asif Ali
Fakhar Zaman
Haider Ali
Haris Rauf
Iftikhar Ahmed
Khushdil Shah
Mohammad Nawaz
Mohammad Wasim Jnr
Shaheen Shah Afridi
Shahnawaz Dahani
Usman Qadir
Hasan Ali


Bangladesh squad
Mahmudullah (C)
Munim Shahriar
Liton Das
Anamul Haque Bijoy
Shakib Al Hasan
Afif Hossain
Mushfiqur Rahim
Nurul Hasan Sohan
Yasir Ali
Mahedi Hasan
Mustafizur Rahman
Shoriful Islam
Shohidul Islam
Nasum Ahmed
Mohammad Saifuddin


Afghanistan squad
Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk)
Hazratullah Zazai
Usman Ghani
Darwish Rasooli
Najibullah Zadran
Mohammad Nabi (c)
Azmatullah Omarzai
Rashid Khan
Karim Janat
Fazalhaq Farooqi
Nijat Masood
Ihsanullah Janat
Fareed Ahmad Malik
Noor Ahmad
Sharafuddin Ashraf


Sri Lanka squad
Dasun Shanaka (C)
Pathum Nissanka
Danushka Gunathilaka
Kusal Mendis
Charith Asalanka
Bhanuka Rajapaksa
Nuwanidu Fernando
Lahiru Madushanka
Wanindu Hasaranga
Chamika Karunaratne
Dushmantha Chameera
Kasun Rajitha
Nuwan Thushara
Matheesha Pathirana
Maheesh Theekshana

*The squads of all the teams are yet to be announced for the competition and thus we have put the predicted squads here. (The squads will be updated as soon as they are announced)

Asia Cup 2022 Live Streaming and Live Telecast Details

In India

Asia Cup 2022 will be telecasted on the Star Sports network in India and Disney + Hotstar will stream the online coverage of the event. The same network will provide live coverage to Asia Cup 2022 in other subcontinent regions like Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal and Sri Lanka.

In Pakistan

Asia Cup 2022 will be telecasted on PTV Sports and Ten Sports, the former has the exclusive rights for the event for both TV and online streaming.

In Bangladesh

Asia Cup 2022 will be telecasted on Gazi TV (GTV) in Bangladesh

In Australia and New Zealand

Asia Cup 2022 will be telecasted on Yupp TV in the Oceania countries of Australia and New Zealand.

In South Africa

Asia Cup 2022 will be telecasted on the SuperSport network while online streaming will take place on

In USA and UK

Asia Cup 2022 will be streaming on Hotstar in USA and UK.

In the Middle East

Asia Cup 2022 will be telecasted on OSN Sports Cricket HD.

Asia Cup 2022 Groups:

The teams are yet to be divided into groups for Asia Cup 2022. In the last edition too, there were six teams and they were divided into two groups of three teams each. Group A consisted of India, Pakistan and Hong Kong while Group B had Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan.

As far as the format is concerned, each team played the other in the same group once. The top two teams from each group then qualified to qualify for the second stage, called the Super Four. The four teams in that stage played each other once before the top two teams qualified for the final. With six teams participating in the upcoming edition too, one can expect a similar format.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *