India is all set to take on Zimbabwe in the three-match ODI series. Zimbabwe will be hosting this series and all the matches will be played in Harare Sports Association at Harare in Zimbabwe. BCCI has revised the Squad, as KL Rahul is fit and all set to take on Zimbabwe.

As India’s Head Coach Rahul Dravid will be accompanying Team India For Asia Cup, BCCI has now announced that VVS Laxman is going to accept the responsibility and position of Head Coach for Team India on the Zimbabwe tour.

VVS Laxman
VVS Laxman. Image Credits: Twitter

VVS Laxman Appointed Head Coach For The Zimbabwe Tour

The batting legend has earlier worked as a coach for the national team and this is his second tenure. Laxman is back as the head coach of the Indian cricket team on a stand-in basis and will be at the helm of affairs in the three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe. Laxman will be replacing Rahul Dravid on a stand-in basis.

As per Cricbuzz, Laxman will be joined by Sairaj Bahutule and Hrishikesh Kanitkar. The trio had earlier worked with Indian Team for a part of the UK tour in June-July this year. When Rahul Dravid was busy with the preparations for the one-off Test against England, Laxman coached the Hardik Pandya-led side in two T20Is against Ireland and two warm-up matches in England.
Shikhar Dhawan Rahul Dravid
Shikhar Dhawan Rahul Dravid. Image Credits: Twitter
Dravid was rested for the first T20I against England and Laxman coached the Rohit Sharma-led side in the T20I series-opener. Dravid took over the charge from the second game. Laxman is currently head of the National Cricket Academy (NCA).
As always, India will start as favourites in the series against Zimbabwe. The strategies and instructions from Laxman might make the difference. Many youngsters are also included in the squad. A coach like VVS will surely make a difference in their approach to the game and will benefit them a lot.
India Squad For Zimbabwe Tour 2022: Shikhar Dhawan (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Rahul Tripathi, Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj, Deepak Chahar.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *