Alex Hales has been added to England squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2022. England Cricket Board (ECB) had announced the 15-Men Squad for the Upcoming World Cup which is all set to begin in the month of October earlier this month (September). The squad led by England’s Most Attacking Batsman, Jos Buttler had many great names included.

Batting All-rounder, Moeen Ali got a place in this squad. Jonathan Bairstow, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes and Mark Wood are some of the Key Players included in the list.

Jonny Bairstow England
Jonny Bairstow. Image Credits: Twitter

England’s Opener, Jonathan (Popularly Called ‘Johny’) Bairstow, got himself injured last week. He sustained a left- ankle injury which had cost him his place in the Playing Eleven of England, in this upcoming World Cup.

Alex Hales Called To Replace Johny Bairstow:

Alex Hales England T20 World Cup 2022
Alex Hales. Image Credits: Twitter

As Johny Bairstow will not be able to play in this World Cup, he was dropped from England’s T20 Squad. ECB had made the official announcement regarding the same on their official Twitter Account and their website.


Alex Hales, who was last seen playing for England in March 2019, is named as a replacement for the loss incurred to England’s Team in terms of Bairstow. Along with this World Cup, Bairstow had also been ruled out from England’s Tour of Pakistan.

Alex Hales will be replacing him in that squad too. Alex Hales has not played International Cricket for a long time and he will be making his comeback directly in the biggest cricketing tournament in the World, the World Cup. There will be a lot of pressure on Hales.

England’s First match is against Afghanistan on 22 October at Perth Stadium in Perth.

England’s  Revised Squad For T20 World Cup 2022:

England Cricket Team
England Cricket Team. Image Credits: Twitter

Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes and Mark Wood

Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson and Tymal Mills have been named as Travelling Reserves for this Upcoming World Cup.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *