The biggest Cricketing Tournament is all set to begin on October 16. The World T20 Cup is scheduled to be played in Australia. International Cricket Council (ICC) had already announced the fixtures of the league stages in the month of August.

ICC has today officially declared the fixtures of Warm-up matches that will be played before the start of the league stages of the World T20 Cup. The first round of warm-up Matches is all set to be played from October 10th to October 13th.

Rohit Sharma Virat Kohli
Rohit Sharma Virat Kohli. Image Credits: BCCI

Each Team participating in the World Cup will be playing at least one match before the Actual fixture is implemented. The teams that qualified to play the Super 12 round directly will play their warm-up games in Brisbane on October 17 and 19.

Team India Will Be Playing Two Warm-up Matches

Team India will be playing their first warm-up game against the Hosts and reigning champions Australia on October 17 at The Gabba. The second warm-up match of the Indian Cricket Team will be against New Zealand two days later at the same venue.

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule, Teams, India Squad, Qualification, Groups, Host Country, India Team, Qualifier

The first warm-up fixture is between West Indies and UAE at the Junction Oval on October 10. Scotland then takes on the Netherlands and Sri Lanka plays Zimbabwe in the two other games on the same day at the same venue. Then Sri Lanka will be playing against Zimbabwe at MCG on the same day.

India National Cricket Team
India National Cricket Team. Image Credits: BCCI

The next day (11 October), Namibia will take on Ireland again at MCG. On the 12th of October, West Indies will be playing against the Netherlands at MCG. On the 13th of October, Zimbabwe will take on Namibia at the Junction Oval. Same day and at the same venue, Sri Lanka will be seen playing against Ireland. Scotland will be playing against UAE at MCG, on the same day.

The Second round of Warm-up matches will begin on the 17th of October, Australia will be seen playing against India at The Gabba. While New Zealand will be taking on South Africa at Allan Border Field at the same time. England will play against Pakistan and Afghanistan will be taking on Bangladesh on the same day.

Rohit Sharma Hardik Pandya
Rohit Sharma Hardik Pandya. Image Credits: BCCI

On the 19th of October, Afghanistan will play against Pakistan, and Bangladesh will take on South Africa. While Team India will take on New Zealand.

ICC has made it clear in the announcement that the warm-up fixtures will not carry official T20 International status. The main tournament begins in Geelong with Sri Lanka taking on Namibia on October 16.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *