Dwaine Pretorius, the Star All-rounder of the South African Team got a huge setback right before the World Cup. Pretorius was part of the South Africa Squad for the Upcoming World Cup. The South African all-rounder was ruled out of the three-match ODI series against India as well as the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup in Australia on Thursday due to injury.

The news has been confirmed by Cricket South Africa officially on their Twitter handle. They Posted a tweet informing about the unfortunate injury of the Star All-rounder.

Dwaine Pretorius
Dwaine Pretorius. Image Credits: Twitter

Marco Jansen Named As A Replacement For Dwaine Pretorius

Marco Jansen
Marco Jansen. Image Credits: Twitter

Left-arm pacer Marco Jansen has been added to the squad for the ODI series against India while the replacement for the T20 World Cup is yet to be announced. We can expect that Marco Jensen could replace him in the T20 World Cup Squad as well. Marco Jensen is included as a standby player for the Upcoming World Cup.

Marco Jensen is a newcomer in International Cricket. Till now, the 22 Year Old had just played 1 T20 International Match wherein he took one wicket. He played Indian Premier League (IPL) for Mumbai Indians, one of the most successful teams in IPL History and is currently included in Sunrisers Hyderabad, But couldn’t perform as expected. He could only manage to get 9 Wickets in the IPL.

The 33 Year Old Pretorius was a member of the squad that lost the three-match T20I series 1-2 to India in which he picked 3 for 26 in the last tie in Indore with his right-arm pace. Dwaine Pretorius took nine wickets for South Africa during the 2021 T20 World Cup in UAE. Pretorius, who made his international debut in 2016, has picked up 35 ODI wickets, 35 T20I wickets and seven Test wickets for the Proteas. With the bat, the right-hander has 83 runs in Tests, 192 runs in ODIs and 261 runs in T20Is.

South Africa Cricket Team
South Africa Cricket Team. (Photo by PHILL MAGAKOE / AFP) (Photo by PHILL MAGAKOE/AFP via Getty Images)

South Africa Squad for World T20 Cup: Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton de Kock, Heinrich Klaasen, Reeza Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Rillee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs. Standby Players: Bjorn Fortuin, Marco Jansen, Andile Phehlukwayo.

Also Read: India World Cup Squad Flies To Australia; Only 14 Members Board The Plane

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *